Clock This

November 9, 2011

It’s been nearly a week and I’m still not used to the time change. I wish they’d leave the clocks alone, but I said the same thing about the moon-landing in 1969 – no one listened. What was that all about, anyway? Do people now live on the moon? Can you grow things on the moon? Extract anything or sell anything? Do YOU want to go to the moon?

I find science incredibly irritating, at least that part of it that values any old thing just to prove it can be done. Daylight savings isn’t scientific, though it took me many years to realize that. I was 35 before I understood that we didn’t change the clocks because the time had changed; rather, we change the time by changing the clocks. Simple, right? But I thought something real was going on, something to do with Nature or the cosmos. I was really pissed off when I discovered the whole thing was man-made and that daylight savings time was invented just to torture little boys by making them play baseball till 9 p.m. You can forget about the farmers and children walking to school in the dark. The true purpose of daylight savings is to make men out of slackers.

Now I wish they’d just stop it. Spring or fall, I don’t care – just pick a time and stay with it. My friend Andy says this will never happen because it doesn’t give people enough to do. He thinks we should set the time ahead or back by a HALF hour now and then. It’s fair to both sides, and it could be useful if you’re running late. Likewise if you want to fire someone for tardiness.

“Like” this column if you favor “Andy’s Law.” And note how cleverly I’ve linked it to BIBLE TIME, an old column I did on (roughly) the same subject. A good citizen recycles. ‘Nuff said.

4 Responses to “Clock This”

  1. Marlene Bryant-Wallace Says:

    Couldn’t agree more – I don’t like it. I want to go to bed at 8:30 because it’s been dark since 5:30 or so. Of course I also think all of us in the northern climes were meant to be dormant for most of the winter dark anyway.

  2. D. French Says:

    I think we should set the clocks back another hour EVERY week so that we can have that extra hour to sleep in.

  3. Peter Kurth Says:

    If we did it often enough we could delay whole weeks and years!

  4. s Says:

    Splendid.


Leave a Reply

